Navigation

Devoted to tradition: 111 years Ski Club Arlberg

Find out more about the oldest Ski Club in Austria

The cradle of skiing on the Arlberg: Here in 1901 the Ski Club Arlberg was founded. The Ski Club Arlberg is not only the oldest ski club in Austria, but also undoubtedly the most legendary ski club in the world.

 

On 3 January 1901 Alpine skiing was born on the Arlberg: During a stop in Hotel Hospiz, the Ski Club Arlberg was founded by six friends. 111 years later the legendary Arlberg Ski Club, with headquarters in St. Anton, counts 7.300 members from 53 nations.

Ski Arlberg: the beginnings of the Ski Club Arlberg and its successful members

Three years after the founding of the Ski Club Arlberg, the first general ski race was held with tremendous effort, without ski lifts and with a great deal of enthusiasm: an absolute novelty in alpine sports, which drew attention to skiing on the Arlberg. The enthusiasm for skiing on the Arlberg has remained unchallenged until today, and the list of successful racers who emerged from the Ski Club Arlberg is long. Hannes Schneider, the founder of the first ski school on the Arlberg and inventor of the "stem turn", Othmar Schneider, who won the first Alpine gold medal at the Olympic Games for Austria, Olympic champion and world champion Patrick Ortlieb "the eagle from the Arlberg", Mario Matt: they are all the pride and motivation for the Ski Club Arlberg.

 

Enthusiasm for skiing on the Arlberg: member of the Ski Club Arlberg

Without a doubt: The membership of the Ski Club Arlberg is a special honour. If you have gone skiing on the Arlberg for at least three years and have won the hearts of two "guarantors" of the members of the Ski Club Arlberg, then the way to membership and the weekly regulars’ table is open.

 

While skiing on the Arlberg you can enjoy the interaction at the regulars’ table of the Ski Club Arlberg at Hotel Edelweiss! The first step is easy:
Book your room or suite online right away.

Hotel Edelweiss **** Voucher – the perfect gift!

Please send your voucher request to us at welcome@edelweiss-arlberg.at
We will gladly make an individual voucher out for you.

We will inform you regularly with our newsletter about the latest topics and offers. Your data will be treated confidentially, and will not be passed to third parties.

Navigation

Tradition verpflichtet: 111 Jahre Skiclub Arlberg

Wissenswertes über den ältesten Skiclub Österreichs

Die Wiege des Skilaufs steht am Arlberg: Hier wurde im Jahr 1901 der Skiclub Arlberg gegründet. Der Skiclub Arlberg ist nicht nur der älteste Skiclub Österreichs, sondern auch zweifellos der legendärste Skiclub der Welt.

 

Die Geburtsstunde des alpinen Skilaufs am Arlberg schlug am 3. Januar 1901: Sechs Freunde gründeten während eines Einkehrschwungs im Hotel Hospiz den Skiclub Arlberg. 111 Jahre später zählt der legendäre Skiclub Arlberg mit Sitz in St. Anton 7.300 Mitglieder in 53 Nationen.

Ski Arlberg: die Anfänge des Skiclubs Arlberg und seine erfolgreichen Mitglieder

Drei Jahre nach Gründung des Skiclubs Arlberg wurde unter ungeheuren Mühen, ohne Aufstiegshilfen und mit einer großen Portion Enthusiasmus das erste allgemeine Skirennen durchgeführt: ein absolutes Novum im alpinen Sport, das die Aufmerksamkeit auf den Skilauf am Arlberg richtete. Die Begeisterung für das Skifahren am Arlberg ist bis heute ungebrochen, und die Liste erfolgreicher Rennläufer, die aus dem Skiclub Arlberg hervorgingen, ist lang. Hannes Schneider, der Gründer der ersten Skischule am Arlberg und Erfinder des „Stemmbogens“, Othmar Schneider, der die erste alpine Goldmedaille bei Olympischen Spielen für Österreich holte, Olympiasieger und Weltmeister Patrick Ortlieb oder „der Adler vom Arlberg“, Mario Matt: Sie alle sind der Stolz und Ansporn für den Skiclub Arlberg.

 

Begeisterung für den Skilauf am Arlberg: Mitglied beim Skiclub Arlberg

Keine Frage: Die Mitgliedschaft beim Skiclub Arlberg ist eine besondere Ehre. Sind Sie seit mindestens drei Jahren zum Skilaufen am Arlberg zu Gast und haben Sie zwei „Bürgen“ aus den Mitgliedern des Skiclubs Arlberg für sich gewonnen, ist der Weg zur Mitgliedschaft und zum wöchentlichen Stammtisch geebnet.

 

Genießen Sie beim Skilauf am Arlberg den Austausch beim gemütlichen Stammtisch des Skiclubs Arlberg im Hotel Edelweiss! Der erste Schritt ist ganz einfach:

Buchen Sie Ihr Zimmer oder Ihre Suite jetzt online.

Hotel Edelweiss **** Gutscheine – das perfekte Geschenk!

 

Bitte senden Sie uns Ihre gewünschte Gutscheinanfrage welcome@edelweiss-arlberg.at
Wir stellen Ihnen gerne einen individuellen Gutschein aus.

Mit unserem Newsletter informieren wir Sie regelmäßig über aktuelle Themen und Angebote. Ihre Daten werden vertraulich behandelt und nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.